Going Back to School Freaks Me the Hell Out

Less than a week til I head back to Gettysburg for the second half of my junior year (that feels incredibly weird and scary to say). You’d think that by now I’d have a handle on the whole school thing, and obviously I do, but this time feels so different. Having spent an entire semester in another country, away from my campus and the routine and relationships that I’ve made there, makes going back to school feel like the weirdest thing ever.

The best way I can describe it is as if you graduated high school and spent a semester away at college and then returned back to high school the next semester (though this is a much more drastic change I’m sure). But can you imagine how that would feel? I created a whole, new “normal” while I was in Spain, and as much as I yearned to go back to the comfort of my school the entire time I was gone, I still had a separation from it for long enough to make it feel somewhat foreign to me. So now the idea of going back to that other life feels intensely weird to me, and to be honest scares the crap out of me.

Don’t get me wrong I beyond excited to go back, but at the same time I have this strange level of anxiety about returning. Will my classes seem harder? Will the atmosphere seem different? Will my friends be the same? Will I enjoy it the same way I used to? Will buff chicken Tuesday still be as delicious?!?! These are the questions that are floating around in my head.

I guess all I can say is I feel weird, excited but weird. Not to mention that I also am very behind on packing and kind of think I’ve now completely forgotten how to live in a dorm, so that’s just one more thing to add to the to do list.

All in all I know I’ll probably love being back and can’t wait to thrive again in my tiny little Gettysburg pond.

Hope everyone is prepared for my return, it should be an eventful one….. *insert tongue emoji here*

From me for you,

Julie

 

One thought on “Going Back to School Freaks Me the Hell Out

Leave a Reply

