The Adventures of Flat Julie (Israel Edition)

Some of you may know that my best friend/roommate Kelli spent the last ten days in Israel on Birthright. Considering that Kelli and I spend 90% of our everyday life together there was no way I was going to allow her to have an amazing time in Israel without me. So naturally I made her a Flat Julie to take along with her on all of her sight-seeing adventures. Well Kelli is finally back in the States again (thank god) and she’s showed me all of the places that Flat Julie got to experience. So now I am here to share them with you!

First I took a nice hike through the desert (I’m sure Flat Julie enjoyed the hiking much more than real Julie would’ve…..)

Then I slept in a Beduoin tent (which I am informed was a huge tent in the Negev Desert)

image7

Along the way I made a lot of new friends (always room for more Jewish friends in my life).

image8

I RODE A CAMEL! (Hella awesome)

kjlkjlkjllk

I climbed Masada. Which apparently is “an ancient fortification in the Southern District of Israel situated on top of an isolated rock plateau, akin to a mesa, on the eastern edge of the Judaean Desert, overlooking the Dead Sea 20 kilometres (12 mi) east of Arad.” (I’m learning so much as I write this).

And finally I visited the Western Wall.

image4 (1)

At this point in the trip somehow Kelli lost me (thanks Kel) but she tells me that I will now forever be in the holiest place on earth, so I guess that’s pretty cool. Honestly I’m wondering if a random stranger has found Flat Julie and has continued to take her on Israeli adventures (or they threw me in an Israeli trashcan…..still pretty cool).

So that was my trip (Kelli’s trip) to Israel! After I made Flat Julie for Kelli she thought that I should also have a Flat Kelli to bring home so she could be with me too. So here’s what Flat Kelli has done so far over break……

Pretty exciting stuff right there.

Hopefully the next time Kelli and I go to another country we will actually be together for all the adventures! (Salamanca, Spain Fall 2k16 ????).

Stay tuned.

From me for you,

Julie

 

Leave a Reply

