Some Music for You

I consider myself to be a bit of a music enthusiast. I’m always looking for new songs and artists to listen to so I can expand my music library. This has caused me to have a particularly wide range in music taste; it pretty much covers everything from country, to house, to pop, and also some alternative, and pop punk. Basically, I’ll listen to anything that has a solid beat and good lyrics. I usually share my music with my family and friends (or, as they might say, annoy them with it), but I figured since I started blog I’d annoy you with my current music favorites rather than them! So here’s my current music obsessions, hope you enjoy!

Side note: I know that often times when someone tells me to listen to a song I make a mental note of it in the back of my head and then never listen. To help you to not do the same thing that I do, I suggest you open up a tab right now on your computer, phone, or whatever and listen to a bit of each song as you read its review. You won’t regret it, I promise!

1. Eyes Shut by Years & Years

image3

Years & Years are a trio from Great Britain. As soon as I heard this song I knew it was going to be one of my new favorites. It has such a good beat, like a really good finger snapping, steering-wheel-drumming beat (if you’re anything like me you will definitely do this when you listen). At the same time there’s also this great soft piano that starts off the song and then plays throughout its entirety. Besides the general beat I also really enjoy the lyrics and the voice of the lead singer (Olly Alexander, he’s also kind of adorable). I feel as though he’s a real talent, his voice is very melodic and soft (there’s a stripped version of this song on Years & Years’ Vevo account where you can really hear how good of a singer he is). This is the first song I’ve ever listened to by Years & Years but I definitely plan to listen to more. All in all this is a great mid-tempo song for those long car rides by yourself!

2. Brother (feat. Gavin DeGraw) by NEEDTOBREATHE

image2

Gosh this one’s just so good. So I’ve been a fan of NEEDTOBREATHE ever since I saw them open for Taylor Swift about four years ago (their song Something Beautiful is one of my all time favorites). On the other hand, I’ve been singing Gavin DeGraw songs ever since my obsession with One Tree Hill came about in like middle school. Put both of these amazing artists together and oh my god we have a musical masterpiece. I’m not kidding, the soul and depth behind this song is like enough to give you chills (and might even cause you to throw out a couple of mmmyeah’s here and there). Anyone who knows either of these artists can guess that the vocals in this song are also simply wonderful. It’s honestly just a great piece of music. There’s not much else to say, just go listen!

3. Blindside by Hunter Hunted

image1 (1)

Hunter Hunted is a duo indie pop band, and if this song is any indication of the rest of their music than they’re doing everything right. This song is more up-tempo than the last two. It has a classic pop(ish) beat and seems like it would do well with the masses (it has a very The 1975/American Authors vibe). The song has a good blend of real instruments and produced electro sound. I don’t know if I’d necessarily be able to lump this song into one genre because it’s a little crossover and could easily be a radio hit but isn’t the pop fluff we’re usually used to hearing from top hits. Overall it’s just a great song to dance to alone in your room or while driving down the highway (friends are always welcome, but once again if you’re like me there’s nothing better than a solid ugly dance session by yourself).

I think that’s all I’ll talk about this week, but I definitely have more songs ready to go in my archive so stay tuned! I hope you enjoyed this mini music review and that you like all the songs I picked (it’s okay, I won’t be offended if you don’t).

From me for you,

Julie

Leave a Reply

